Interview with Mike Morrissey

Recent USA competitive events have seen the same 3-4 rulers dominating the top 8. The community was surprised to see Mike Morrissey top 8 with an unconventional ruler at the regional event in Illinois: Snow White. Let’s take a look at how this exciting ruler brought a fresh perspective to the USA meta.

Mike M1) How did you hear about Force of Will?

I’ve played Magic for years. I’ve also dabbled in Yu-Gi-Oh (Yugimon, as I like to call it) and Vanguard. I heard about Force of Will from my friends that play Magic.

2) What did you do to prepare for the Illinois WGP event?

I tested against Abdul, Bahamut, and Odd Grimm because I figured they would make up the largest portion of the meta.

3) Snow White is not a ruler that has been doing well in recent events, what made you decide to play her as a ruler?

I played Snow White because I believer her J/Ruler ability to be powerful yet balanced, unlike Abdul. She also has a large body, 1300/1300, and that makes Duel of Truth especially lethal. I chose Snow White to beat Abdul. (It didn’t work too well in Top 8.)

4) What card was the “MVP” of your deck?

Jeanne d’Arc, the Awakening Purity was my MVP. When she cheated in Gilles de Rais, the Golden Dragon it was game changing. When I ran her out on turn 3 she slowed the game enough to allow me to control the game with Snow White.

5) Are there any changes you would make to the deck?

I would substitute The Little Prince for King’s Servant. I would also run less Duel of Truth in the main and I would add Rapid Decay to the main.

ChicagoTop86) Are there any cards from the new set, The Millenia of Ages, that interest you?

The whole set [excites] me [about] Force of Will. I’m especially excited about better white resonators. I think QuickCast is an excellent ability.

7) Since you didn’t qualify in Chicago, are you planning on attending any other regional events this season? Can we expect another exciting ruler from you?

I’m on the fence for Houston, I’d love to go with my improved Snow White. It all depends if new rulers come out that can efficiently deal with Abdul. I’m brewing so we just have to wait and see.

Ruler: Snow White/Bloody Snow White

Main Deck Stone Deck Side Board
The Queen’s Butler 4 Magic Stone of Heat Ray Aesop, the Prince’s Tutor
King’s Servant Magic Stone of Flame Abel, the Avenger of Gods
Grimm, the Avenger of Fairy Tales 1 Little Red, the Pure Stone Rapunzel, the Long-Haired Princess
Gilles de Rais, the Golden Dragon Almerius, the Levitating Stone Return to Stories
4 Tinker Bell, the Spirit Magic Stone of Light Savior of Splendor
4 Hunter in Black Forest Robe of Fire-Rat
Jeanne d’Arc, the Awakening Purity Duel of Truth
Poison Apple 2 Rapid Decay
Breath of the God
3 Duel of Truth
3 Split Heaven and Earth
4 Thunder
Leave a Reply

